Who are we?

The AAM are a private institution engaged in museographical, editorial, documentary and educational activities. Its activities draw on collections of architecture archives, books, photographs and objects – furniture, models, plans – principally covering the period from the mid-19th to the 21st century.

The AAM are simultaneously and at the same site an archive and documentation centre, a museum with collections and exhibition rooms, a specialised library and a publishing house.
In addition to the collections relating to architecture, the AAM explore related subjects such as the automobile, wars, modern dance, industry, freemasonry, religious art, art nouveau, and art déco.

The Board of Directors

The AAM were founded in 1969 at the initiative of the art historian R.-L. Delevoy and architects Maurice Culot, Bernard de Walque and François Terlinden. The honorary presidents are the architects L. H. De Koninck, Victor Martiny and, since 2014, Philippe Rotthier.

The board of directors in 2016 consisted of:
President, Maurice Culot
Managing Director, Yaron Pesztat
Secretary, Jean-Paul Tournay



Birkiye Sefik

Capart Jean-Noël

Clotuche Gabrielle

Delbrouck Dominique

de Salle Jean

De Smet Amaury

de Walque Bernard

Frère Marc

Kahn Aline

Lasserre Christian

Leloup Michel

Lhoas Pierre

Pauthier Isabelle

Pesson William

Rotthier Philippe

Straetmans Wim

Strauven Francis

Strauven Iwan